Wondering About the Seven Wonders of the World

Question for this Thursday—and no peeking!

What are the Seven Wonders of the World?

How many did you get? If you are able to name them, good for you and I bow to your memory! But if you’re anything like me, coming up with anything beyond one or two was a struggle. The only one I could readily name is the Hanging Gardens of Babylon and my husband could only name the Taj Mahal. Together we were able to remember the Great Pyramid of Giza, but after that we just stared at each other.

Curiosity got the better of me so I did a little digging and discovered that there are not just the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (and sometimes an Eighth), but there are apparently other “Wonders” as well: Seven Wonders of the Modern World, Seven Natural Wonders of the World, New Seven Wonders of the World, Seven Wonders of the Underwater World, Seven Wonders of the Industrial World, and Seven Wonders of the Solar System, and many other Wonder lists that aren’t relegated to the number Seven. As a matter of fact, a Google Search of the Seven Wonders of the World resulted in 33,800,000 hits (!!).

For those of you like me, who couldn’t remember the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (also known as Seven Wonders of the Classic World), here they are:

The Colossus of Rhodes
The Great Pyramid of Giza
The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
The Lighthouse of Alexandria
The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

Later historical lists included more “contemporary” sites such as the Taj Mahal (the Wonder my husband came up with) Stonehenge, the Colosseum, Great Wall of China, and Cluny Abbey. Maybe they were added because the only one left from the original list is the Great Pyramid of Giza!

Many of these lists are subjective and were created from the public surveys and compilations guided by groups such as The American Society of Civil Engineers, CNN, New 7 Wonders Foundation, USA Today newspaper, New7 Wonders of Nature, and CEDAM International to name a few.

Thinking about all of these Wonders inspired me to create my own Seven Wonders of Renata’s World. I’m not a time traveler or a world traveler and these wonders aren’t all man-made, or all natural-made but they are Wonders to me nonetheless. In no particular order of Wonder, here is my list:

The strength of a tuft of grass or dandelion to find the spot to push through and grow in between cracks of cement
The power of thunderstorms
The grace of an ocean wave
The depth of feelings of relief, acceptance, and gratefulness when forgiving and being forgiven
Falling asleep curled up in your lover’s arms
A Parents’ hug
Falling in love

If you were to list Seven Wonders in your world what would they be?

8 thoughts on “Wondering About the Seven Wonders of the World

    • Thank you Stephanie. Your comment means so much to me. I was amazed at the different versions of Wonders and once I started to think about my own, they came together so easily. I’m so happy to be able to share them with you!
      Renata

  1. Love this! There is a post somewhere about a teacher asking her students to list the 7 wonders of the world. And a girl listed “to see, to hear, to touch, to taste, to feel, to laugh, and to love.” That really touched me – and your post has done that, too. For me, the wonders are flowers, clouds, birds, dogs, leaves, grass, seeing, hearing, feeling, touching, caring, breathing, laughing, and loving. Actually, if you open to them, the wonders are endless. Great post for reminding us of this! 🙂 ❤

  2. Oh I love the girls list and yours. There is so much truth to finding wonder in anything if you are open to them and you have such a wonderful sense about seeing that in things and people. Thank you for your comment….I miss hearing from you ❤

  3. I could only remember three: the Lighthouse of Alexandria (stone from this is said to have been used to build the fort in Alexandria harbour), the Great Pyramid of Giza and the Hanging Gardens of Babylon. It is no wonder so many modern lists have been made given the wonders, natural, man-made and personal, that nowadays exist. I wonder what mine would be…

  4. That’s not bad Natalie! I agree, that there are so many incredible man-made and natural structures out there you almost need to have so many lists to acknowledge them or pay homage to them.

  5. I love your wonders! They are indeed. I always thought Niagara Falls (the falls itself, not my hometown) was one of the seven natural wonders of the world. I’ll have to go look that up and see if it’s still on the list… Great post, as always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

