Blogging From A to Z: Keys

K

 

My father’s keys used to jingle with each step he took as he descended the stairs to the family room every night when he came home from work.

I would know where he was anywhere in the house if I just listened for the jangle.

When I was young I thought he had the keys to the world hanging off his belt, there were just so many! In my little girl mind, he was the keeper of all things secret and hidden behind locked doors and safes and I used to be afraid someone would kidnap him and make him share his keys and force him to open those doors. But no one ever did. Of course not. That was just an only daughter’s fear who had a very active imagination.

It’s been 15 years since he passed, and still, whenever I find a loose key with no possible recollection of what it opens, I put it aside. I just can’t bear to let it go. At least not for a while. I’d rather let whatever door or secret it opens stay closed for a little bit longer.

My father was a locksmith and I am proud to be his daughter.

Remembering deeper….

7 thoughts on “Blogging From A to Z: Keys

  1. what fond memories of your dad! And what fun imaginations you must have had as a little girl: what was behind all those locked doors?! Do you ever think that when you find a key, it’s your dad checking in?? Sweet story Renata. Really sweet.

  2. Beautiful and so well written – love those memories. My grandfather had a bunch of keys clipped onto his pants, and when I was little, I didn’t realize they were separate, and I called them his “key pants” – the pants with the keys. It always made him seem so important to have so many keys to so many different things. So I know what you are saying. Love your post – thank you for sharing this! ❤

    • Thank you Shail. I’m so glad it brought happy memories to you of your mother. I enjoyed your “k” post very very much! My comments are there but I have to tell you I love your line, “As they say, it is only when the Gods call can you be fortunate enough to visit a holy place.”

Leave a Reply

